Dreams: Go Big or Go Home


Ever since I wrote about my mom a few weeks ago, I’ve been thinking about her instructions to take piano lessons. That advice has been haunting me: what is my passion? What is my cause? What is it that I do? When I ran, the races motivated me and pushed me beyond my limits. I had a goal that I cared about deeply, and I reached it. And then I slacked off. Looking back, I miss those weeks of intensive training, the feeling of bonding with my team, the constant realization that I had power within my reach, and the deep satisfaction at completing a very difficult goal.

It seemed almost fortuitous to receive a marketing email about the Providence Rock N Roll Half Marathon. My first race was a Rock N Roll Half Marathon! Providence is my home town! And more than that, I’d been thinking about how much I miss running. Of course, I’ve been thinking about how much I miss my mom, too. And then I had an aha moment. I’m going to run for charity and raise money for the American Cancer Society. I’m going to run a race and do it in memory of my mom. I know she would be proud of me, and I’m going to honor her memory by doing something really important.

I keep telling myself: Don’t dream a dream and feel the regret of inaction. Rather, dream big, take action, stretch yourself, and achieve. And you know what? That is exactly what I am going to do. I am going to give myself a difficult goal – two goals, in fact: I will raise $1260 and I will complete a half marathon. I am going to pull myself up, once again, and reach into the far depths of my dreams. And I’m going to do it.

I’m just getting started, of course. I will write some updates here and here – and I hope you’ll help me if you can.

1 thought on “Dreams: Go Big or Go Home

  1. Hannah! I’m so excited for your race. Congrats on that decision. The half marathon is such an amazing race. And to raise money for the Cancer Society is a fantastic cause. I’m really proud of you. Can’t wait to read about how it went! I’m training myself right now so I can relate! Miss you!

    Love,
    Becca

Leave a comment